skip to main content
Mission Statement

Our mission is to inspire all students to be confident, passionate learners with the courage and skills to lead their lives with integrity, while contributing to our global community with creativity and compassion.

Curriculum Department

North Bellmore’s Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS) Plan

Click here to view the MTSS Plan.

The North Bellmore School District believes in providing an equitable educational experience with positive outcomes for all students, using the Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS) framework. MTSS is a proactive problem-solving and prevention model for ALL students that uses data-based decision-making to inform academic and behavioral instruction, intervention, and enrichment based upon individual student needs. MTSS includes a variety of factors that contribute to the overall health of an effective and efficient system of student supports, as depicted in the “Under the MTSS Umbrella” graphic to the right.

What is MTSS?

The MTSS framework features a tiered infrastructure that encompasses the academic, behavioral, and social emotional development of each student so that every student can achieve academic and life success. It involves the use of assessment data to ensure students are responding appropriately to core instruction and to match students with additional supports for remediation or enrichment as necessary. MTSS provides three levels of support to students that get layered on or removed as students’ needs either increase or decrease. It begins with a differentiated core instruction for all students at Tier 1, adding on strategic support for some at Tier 2, and then increasing to intensive support for a few at Tier 3.

There are four essential components to MTSS:
1.    Screening – Screening is generally conducted 3 times a year to identify students who may be at risk for poor outcomes and need additional academic, social-emotional and behavioral support.  Screening is also used to identify patterns and trends of learning at the district, school and grade levels.

2.    Multi-Level Prevention System – Multi-level prevention system includes a continuum (tier 1, 2 and 3) of integrated academic, social-emotional and behavioral, instructional and intervention supports that are evidence-based and culturally and linguistically responsive.

3.    Progress-Monitoring – Progress monitoring uses valid and reliable tools and processes to assess performance, quantify the improvement of responsiveness to intervention and instruction, and evaluate the effectiveness of instructions, interventions and support.

4.    Data-Based Decision Making – Data-based decision making includes data analysis and problem-solving through team meetings to make decisions about instruction, intervention, implementation, and disability identification (in accordance with state law).